

Meeting Recording Maryland Cybersecurity Council June 11, 2024 Virtual Format

Council Members Present or Represented (32/48)

Howard Barr (chair delegate for the Office of the Attorney General), John Abeles, Dr. David Anyiwo, Captain Shane Bolger (State Police), Kara Contino (Office of Senator Bryan Simonaire), Tasha Cornish, Dr. Michel Cukier, Dr. Anton Dahbura, Robert Day, Jared DeMarinis (State Board of Elections), Cyril Draffin, Terri Jo Hayes, Senator Katie Fry Hester, Dr. Anupam Joshi, Brigadier General Amy Kremser (Military Department), Miheer Khona, Mathew Lee, Bel Leong-hong, Larry Letow, Blair Levin, Kimberly Mentzell (Department of Commerce), Keith Moulsdale, Laura Nelson, Travis Nelson (Governor's Office of Homeland Security), Steve Pennington, Rodney Petersen (National Institute for Standards and Technology), Jonathan Powell, Markus Rauschecker, Sue Rogan, Greg Rogers (Department of Information Technology), Troy Stovall, and Ryner Washburn (Maryland Coordination and Analysis Center).

Invited Subject Matter Expert

Anne Dames, IBM Distinguished Engineer ("Quantum-Resistant Encryption: Preparing Organizations for A New Level of Hacking Risks")

Staff Attending

Damian Lang (Chief of Staff, Office of Senator Katie Fry Hester), Matt Mitroka (NSA Fellow), and Dr. Greg von Lehmen (University of Maryland Global Campus, Staff to the Council).

Meeting Outline

Howard Barr (Assistant Attorney General and Principal Counsel, Department of Information Technology) introduced himself as the Council chair delegate. He noted that the change was due to the departure of Hannibal Kemerer from the Office of the Attorney General. Following was a presentation by Anne Dames, subcommittee reports, and a special update By Senator Hester on the Modernize Maryland Oversight Commission. A quorum for the meeting was confirmed.

The meeting recording and transcript may be found <u>here</u>.